Originally founded in 1921 by William Scott and his 2 sons, the optical business has endured many years of ups and downs in trading, including managing to survive the war and the end of full NHS funded provisions in 1986. Its original site was in The Traverse, Bury St Edmunds but the practice was moved to larger premises in Abbeygate Street in September 2018. We had dedicated one whole window to showcase a collection of old frames and lenses – ‘They way it was……’
COVID has also brought its own challenges to optical businesses on the High Street but the provision of PPE and a clean and safe working environment has meant Scotts Opticians has been able to trade and stay open throughout the last two lockdowns.
2021 was our 100th year, and we celebrated the later part of it with our lovely loyal patients and customers. We had some surprises in store for some lucky people! Please keep in touch and check the latest blog for info.